Created by Fuzzy Cloud

Patna High Court

IndiaversusIndirawati Devi

Decided
Disposal
DISMISSED

Holding

Employees who were granted temporary status before 01‑01‑2004 are covered by the old pension scheme and are entitled to pension and family pension irrespective of regularisation.

Summary

The petition filed by the Union of India challenged a Patna High Court order that had set aside earlier orders denying family pension to Indirawati Devi, wife of the deceased employee of the Department of Posts. The husband had been a casual labourer from 1982, received temporary status in 2001, and was appointed as Multi‑Tasking Staff in March 2016 but died before assuming the post. The core issue was whether a temporary‑status employee, who was regularised after the 1‑Jan‑2004 cut‑off, is entitled to pension under the old statutory pension scheme or the new scheme, and whether regularisation is a prerequisite for pension rights. The court relied on the Supreme Court’s decision in Bhikhani Devi (2026 SCC OnLine SC 1055) and several High Court precedents, holding that employees who obtained temporary status before 1‑Jan‑2004 are covered by the old pension scheme and are entitled to pension and family pension even without regularisation. Consequently, the petition was dismissed as having no merit. The court directed that the respondent is entitled to pension benefits under the old scheme.

Issues considered

  • Whether a casual labourer conferred temporary status before 01‑01‑2004 is entitled to pension and family pension under the old statutory pension scheme.
  • Whether regularisation is a condition for entitlement to pensionary benefits for temporary‑status employees.
  • Whether the Supreme Court judgment in Bhikhani Devi (2026) is applicable to the present case.

Legislation cited

Subjects

  • pension
  • family pension
  • temporary status
  • old pension scheme
  • new pension scheme
  • Central Civil Services Rules
  • superannuation
  • regularisation
  • writ petition
  • Department of Posts

Judgment

          IN THE HIGH COURT OF JUDICATURE AT PATNA
                  Civil Writ Jurisdiction Case No. 3460 of 2025
     ======================================================
1.    The Union of India through the Secretary-cum-DG, Department of Posts,
      Dak Bhawan, New Delhi-110001.
2.   The Chief Postmaster General, Bihar Circle, Patna- 800001.
3.   The Director Accounts (Postal), Exhibition Road, Patna-800001.
4.   The Superintendent, RMS NB Division, Samastipur- 848101.
                                                           ... ... Petitioner/s
                                    Versus

     Indirawati Devi Wife of Late Amardeo Prasad, Resident of Village-Bhirha
     Gopalpur, P.O. Tiriharpur, District Balia (Uttar Pradesh).
                                               ... ... Respondent/s
     ======================================================
     Appearance:
     For the Petitioner/UOI   :     Mr. Alok Kumar Agrawal, Sr. CGC
     For the Respondent/s     :     Mr. Jayant Kumar Karn, Adv.
     ======================================================
     CORAM: HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE MOHIT KUMAR SHAH
                and
                HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE RAJ KUMAR
     ORAL JUDGMENT
     (Per: HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE MOHIT KUMAR SHAH)
     Date: 16-06-2026

              The present writ petition has been filed challenging the

      judgment dated 27.09.2024, passed in O.A. No.050/0003/2020

      by the learned Central Administrative Tribunal, Patna bench,

      Patna (hereinafter referred to the “Ld. CAT”) whereby and

      whereunder the original application filed by the sole respondent

      has been allowed and the impugned orders dated 11.11.2019 as

      also the one dated 17.03.2016, so far as the same relates to not

      inducting the deceased-employee in old Statutory Pension
Patna High Court CWJC No.3460 of 2025 dt.16-06-2026
                                           2/15




         Scheme, have been set aside and the deceased employee-

         husband of the sole respondent has been held entitled for

         pension, to be computed as per the findings arrived at in the said

         judgment dated 27.09.2024. The petitioners herein, by the said

         judgment dated 27.09.2024, have been further directed to settle

         the pension/family pension and all other retiral benefits and pay

         the arrears within a period of three months from the date of

         production/receipt of the said order dated 27.09.2024 with

         interest at the rate of 8% per annum from the date of entitlement

         failing which the interest shall be paid at the rate of 9% per

         annum from the date of entitlement till final payment.

         2.      The facts of the present case lie in a narrow compass

         inasmuch as the husband of the sole respondent, namely late

         Amardeo Prasad was engaged as casual labour in RMS “NB”

         Division, Samastipur in the year 1982 after being empaneled on

         being sponsored by the employment exchange. The husband of

         the sole respondent was conferred temporary status with effect

         from 01.01.2001 vide Memo No.344 dated 14.02.2001, issued

         by the Superintendent RMS “NB” Division, Samastipur,

         whereupon he was extended all the benefits of temporary status

         employee in terms of CCS (Temporary Services) Rules, 1965.

         Thereafter,      upon     recommendation     being   made   by   the
Patna High Court CWJC No.3460 of 2025 dt.16-06-2026
                                           3/15




         Departmental Promotional Committee in its meeting held on

         14.03.2016,       the     Superintendent     RMS   “NB”   Division,

         Samastipur, vide Memo No.1236 dated 17.03.2016, had issued

         appointment letter regarding appointment of the husband of the

         sole respondent as Multi-Tasking Staff against the unfilled

         vacancy of UR and OBC quota for the year 2015 and

         consequently, he was appointed in MTS cadre in Pay Band of

         Rs.5200-20200 (PB-1) with grade pay of Rs.1800 as also he was

         directed to assume charge as MTS. Unfortunately, the husband

         of the sole respondent died on 20.03.2016, as such he could not

         assume the charge as MTS. The sole respondent, being

         aggrieved by non-payment of family pension as well as other

         retiral/death benefits of her husband, preferred an original

         application bearing O.A. No. 92/2017, which was disposed of

         by an order dated 15.04.2019, passed by the learned CAT,

         whereby and whereunder, the respondent authorities were

         directed to pass appropriate reasoned and a speaking order

         taking into account the judgment of the Hon’ble Patna High

         Court, Tribunal and the department’s own circular dated

         15.05.1991. This led to passing of the impugned order dated

         11.11.2019, by the Superintendent RMS “NB” Division,

         Samastipur whereby the claims of the sole respondent for grant
Patna High Court CWJC No.3460 of 2025 dt.16-06-2026
                                           4/15




         of family pension and death/ retiral benefits were rejected. This

         led to the sole respondent filing the present original application

         bearing O.A. No.050/0003/2020, wherein the learned CAT by

         the impugned judgment dated 27.09.2024, after relying upon

         several past precedents, not only that of the learned CAT but

         also of various Hon’ble High Courts and the Hon’ble Apex

         Court, has quashed the impugned orders dt. 11.11.2019 and

         17.3.2016 so far as the same relates to not inducting the

         deceased-employee in the old Statutory Pension Scheme and has

         held the husband of the sole respondent to be entitled for

         pension to be computed as per the findings given in paragraph

         no.59 of the said judgment dated 27.09.2024, which is quoted

         herein below:-

                 “59. So far as present case in hand is concerned,
                 husband of applicant working as Casual Labour from
                 year 1982 paid from Contingency Fund, temporary status
                 vide Order dated 14.02.2001 (Annexure A-2) appointed in
                 regular cadre of MTS in PB-1, GP Rs.1800/- vide Office
                 Order dated 17.03.2016 absorbed in regular employment.
                 Rules 13 & 14 read with OM dated 01.04.1968 entitles
                 applicant's husband vested right of 50% of period prior
                 to grant of temporary status to be counted for pensionary
                 benefits and followed by regular/absorption to reckon
                 50% of applicant's husband total service in temporary
                 status followed by regular appointment vide Order dated
Patna High Court CWJC No.3460 of 2025 dt.16-06-2026
                                           5/15




                 17.03.2016. Pensionary benefits are beneficial measures
                 and no one has control over death and husband of
                 applicant held to be superannuate on regular post of
                 MTS.”

         3.       It would be pertinent to point out here that the learned

         CAT in the impugned judgment dated 27.09.2024 has also

         referred to the case of one Bhikhani Devi, wherein though the

         learned CAT vide order dated 27.03.2018 passed in O.A.

         No.372 of 2017 had allowed the case of Bhikhani Devi,

         however a co-ordinate Bench of this court vide order

         14.10.2019 passed in CWJC no. 15420 of 2019 (Union of India

         Vs. Bhikhani Devi) had set aside the said order dated

         27.03.2018 passed by the learned CAT. Nonetheless, in similar

         facts and circumstances, a co-ordinate Bench of this Court in the

         case of Union of India & Ors. vs. Meena Devi @ Meena

         Kunwar (CWJC No.7760 of 2015) had vide judgment dated

         08.12.2022 affirmed the order dated 20.03.2013 passed by the

         Ld. CAT in O.A. No.164 of 2008 and granted the benefits of

         family pension arrears as per Rule 10(2) of the Central Civil

         Services (Temporary Service) Rules, 1965 and Central Civil

         Services Pension Rules, 1972, wherein also the employee died

         as temporary employee without being regularized.

         4.      The aforesaid Bhikhani Devi and Ors. had then
Patna High Court CWJC No.3460 of 2025 dt.16-06-2026
                                           6/15




         approached the Hon’ble Apex Court by filing SLP(C)

         No.28802-28804 of 2019 (converted into Civil Appeals) and the

         Hon’ble Apex Court, by a judgment dated 01.06.2026, reported

         in 2026 SCC OnLine SC 1055, has been pleased to allow the

         said appeal by holding that a temporary status casual labourer

         would be entitled to pensionary benefits on superannuation even

         in absence of regularization. It would be apposite to reproduce

         paragraphs no. 75, 76 and 85 of the said judgment passed in the

         case of Bhikhani Devi (supra), herein below:-

                 “75. From the above discussion what follows is that when
                 the statutory framework including CCS (Temporary
                 Service) Rules, 1965 is read in conjunction with the
                 Scheme      and     the    circular   dated   30.11.1992,   the
                 inescapable conclusion which emerges is that a casual
                 labour, on being conferred the temporary status, upon
                 completion of three years of continuous service as
                 temporary status casual labourer becomes entitled to
                 benefits admissible to temporary Group D employees
                 which necessarily includes pensionary benefits available
                 under Rule 10(1-B) of the CCS (Temporary Service)
                 Rules, 1965 subject, of course, to fulfilling the eligibility
                 criteria provided therein. This right is not dependent on
                 regularisation. What is conceived is conferring of
                 additional benefit of previous service under the Scheme
                 as would be available to an employee on regularisation
                 apart from the benefits conferred under the rules
Patna High Court CWJC No.3460 of 2025 dt.16-06-2026
                                           7/15




                 becoming applicable on this now acquired new status of a
                 regular employee.

                 76. The question as framed in para 32 above stands
                 answered as follows:

                         ‘A temporary status casual labourer would be
                         entitled to pensionary benefits on superannuation
                         even in the absence of regularisation.'

                 85. The Respondents are accordingly directed to compute
                 and release the pensionary and consequential retiral
                 benefits payable to the Appellants in accordance with law
                 within a period of three months from the date of this
                 judgment. In case of default, interest @ 6% per annum
                 from the date of accrual till disbursement shall be
                 payable to the appellants.”

         5.       Now coming back to the facts of the present case, we

         find that the husband of the sole respondent was employed as a

         casual labour in the year 1982, whereafter he was conferred

         temporary status with effect from 01.01.2001 vide memo dated

         14.02.2001 and then he had continued to work as a temporary

         status casual labourer till his regular appointment in the MTS

         cadre vide memo dated 17.03.2016, a post which he could not

         join, on account of his death within a few days of issuance of

         the said memo dated 17.03.2016. Thus, it is apparent that the

         husband of the sole respondent had joined as temporary status

         casual labourer much prior to coming into force of the new
Patna High Court CWJC No.3460 of 2025 dt.16-06-2026
                                           8/15




         pension scheme which is applicable to all such government

         servants, who have joined on or after 01.01.2004.

         6.      At this juncture, we would also refer to a judgment dated

         15.12.2015 passed by a co-ordinate Bench of this Court in the

         case of Union of India & Ors. vs. Mukti Prasad Yadav (CWJC

         No.17204 of 2015), wherein in somewhat similar circumstances,

         it has been held that such casual employees, who have acquired

         temporary status much prior to 01.01.2004 and have been made

         permanent thereafter, would be covered by the old pension

         scheme. It would be relevant to reproduce paragraph no. 4 of the

         said judgment rendered in the case of Mukti Prasad Yadav &

         Ors (supra) herein below:-

                 “4 The Tribunal, noticing the Full Hench judgment as
                 well as the judgment of the Karnataka High Court in this
                 regard in favour of the employees, held that they would
                 be covered by the Old Pension Scheme. To us, the
                 problem is simple. The New Pension Scheme would apply
                 to persons coming in Government Service after 1-1-2004.
                 The applicants before the Tribunal were first casual
                 labourers, but with effect from 1989 they acquired the
                 temporary status or the status of a temporary employee of
                 the Government in the Department of Posts. After three
                 years of such continuous service, they were entitled to
                 certain benefits, which a permanent Group-D employee
                 gets. They were receiving the same, pending confirmation
Patna High Court CWJC No.3460 of 2025 dt.16-06-2026
                                           9/15




                 in service as a permanent employee. Towards pensionary
                 benefits, G.P.F. deductions were made. Then came cut-off
                 date as 1-1-2004. In the meantime, the vacancies having
                 occurred in the year 2011, they were substantially
                 appointed       as    permanent      employees.   They   were
                 regularized as permanent employees. To us, the answer
                 would be evident from the fact that they were already in
                 service prior to 1-1-2004, though in a temporary status.
                 To us, it appears that the meaning of the Scheme, which
                 puts the cut-off date as 1-1-2004 is that all those persons,
                 who have come in service after 1-1-2004 would be
                 covered by the New Pension Scheme. As noted and stated
                 above, the applicants before the Tribunal, the respondents
                 herein, were already in service, though in temporary
                 status prior to the cut-off date. To them. this cut-off date
                 would not apply, and consequently they would be deemed
                 to be in service on 1-1-2004 having been confirmed as
                 permanent employees in Group-D with effect from 2011.
                 Thus, we find no error in the judgment and order of the
                 Tribunal.”

         7.       We would also refer to a judgment dt. 13.02.2025, passed

         by a co-ordinate Bench of this Court in the case of Union of

         India & Ors. vs. Naina Devi (CWJC No. 9645 of 2024),

         paragraph nos. 3 to 5 whereof are reproduced herein below:-

                 “3. Having regard to the service record of the deceased-
                 Rama Sah to the extent that initially he was appointment
                 on ad hoc basis in the year 1982 and continued to work
                 as such till 31.07.2000. Thereafter, on 01.08.2000, he had
Patna High Court CWJC No.3460 of 2025 dt.16-06-2026
                                          10/15




                 status of temporary. The scheme of the postal department
                 for the purpose of regularisation of such of those
                 temporary status persons is quota earmarked to the
                 extent of 25% till 30.06.2018 and petitioner could not get
                 eligibility for the purpose of regularisation or entering
                 into the MTS cadre. Resultantly, he retired with tag of
                 temporary status on 30.06.2018.

                 4. It is to be noted that with temporary status he has
                 discharged the duties of the post w.e.f 01.08.2000 to
                 30.06.2018. In other words, for about 18 long years he
                 was holding the post on temporary basis. If the principle
                 laid down in the case of Secretary, State of Karnataka
                 and Ors. vs. Uma Devi and Ors. reported in (2006) 4
                 SCC 1 read with State of Karnataka and Ors. vs. M.L.
                 Kesari and Ors, reported in (2010) 9 SCC 247 and later
                 decision in the case of Shripal & Anr. Vs. Nagar Nigam,
                 Ghaziabad decided on 31.01.2025 are taken into
                 consideration, in that event, deceased-Rama Sah is
                 entitled to have the benefit of regularisation or
                 appointment in MTS cadre as and when he had completed
                 10 years of service. In other words, he would be regular
                 holder of Government post. We have noticed in umpteen
                 cases Government instead of regular recruitment to
                 various post, posts are filled on temporary basis, such
                 procedure may be for few months depending upon
                 exigency and the same cannot continue for decade. It is
                 relevant to take note of Article 23 of Constitution and it
                 commence         with     heading    as   "RIGHT   AGAINST
                 EXPLOITATION and it is in relation to prohibiton of
Patna High Court CWJC No.3460 of 2025 dt.16-06-2026
                                          11/15




                 traffic in human beings and forced labour. In the present
                 case, petitioners have resorted forced labour on the
                 deceased - Rama Sah insofar as extracting work from the
                 year 1982 till 30.06.2018, such practice is deprecated. In
                 this regard, the concerned authority are hereby directed
                 to pass a detailed speaking order insofar as regularizing
                 his services while taking note of the principle laid down
                 by the Hon'ble Supreme Court in the aforementioned
                 decisions. Thereafter, proceed to fix his pay in a
                 particular post and extend all monetary benefits to the
                 respondent. Further, from 01 July, 2018 till death of the
                 deceased-Rama Sah pension is required to be calculated
                 and disbursed in favour of the respondent legal heir.
                 Thereafter, respondent-Naina Devi is entitled to family
                 pension depending upon the pension fixation, family
                 pension is required to be fixed. On account of the
                 aforementioned exercise respondent is entitled to
                 monetary benefits, the same shall be calculated and
                 disbursed in favour of respondent-Naina Devi within a
                 period of six months from the date of receipt of this order.

                 5. The petitioners have not made out a case so as to
                 interfere with the CAT order dated 24.11.2023 passed in
                 O.A. No. 1109 of 2019.”

         8.      The Union of India and Ors. had then approached the

         Hon’ble Apex Court, challenging the aforesaid order dated

         13.02.2025, passed by a co-ordinate Bench of this court in the

         case of Naina Devi (supra), however the special leave petition

         bearing SLP(C) No.26670 of 2025, filed by the Union of India
Patna High Court CWJC No.3460 of 2025 dt.16-06-2026
                                          12/15




         & Ors. has been dismissed by the Hon’ble Apex Court, by an

         order dated 17.02.2026 on merits.

         9.      The learned counsel appearing for the petitioners has not

         disputed the fact that now the law has been settled by the

         Hon’ble Apex Court by a judgment dated 01.06.2026, rendered

         in the case of Bhikhani Devi & etc. (supra) and the same would

         govern all such cases as the present one, hence it is submitted

         that there is nothing much to argue in the present case.

         10.     Per contra, the learned counsel appearing for the sole

         respondent has submitted that the present case is squarely

         covered not only by the judgment rendered by the Hon’ble Apex

         Court in the case of Bhikhani Devi (supra) but also by the

         judgment dated 15.12.2015, passed by a coordinate Bench of

         this Court in the case of Mukti Prasad Yadav (supra) and the

         one dated 13.02.2025, passed in the case of Naina Devi (supra)

         by a coordinate Bench of this Court, as affirmed by the Hon’ble

         Apex Court vide order dated 17.02.2026 passed in SLP(C) No.

         26670 of 2025 (Union of India & Ors. vs. Naina Devi).

         11.     Having heard the learned counsel for the parties and

         having perused the materials available on record, we find that

         the law with regard to the lis involved in the present case is no

         longer res integra, inasmuch as the same has been set at rest by
Patna High Court CWJC No.3460 of 2025 dt.16-06-2026
                                          13/15




         the judgment rendered by the Hon’ble Apex Court in the case of

         Bhikhani Devi (supra), wherein it has been categorically held

         that a casual labour, on being conferred temporary status, upon

         completion of three years of continuous service as temporary

         status casual labourer becomes entitled to benefits admissible to

         temporary Group D employees which necessarily includes

         pensionary benefits available under Rule 10(1-B) of the CCS

         (Temporary Service) Rules, 1965 subject, of course, to fulfilling

         the eligibility criteria provided therein and this right is not

         dependent on regularization. Thus, a temporary status labourer

         would be entitled to all retiral benefits on superannuation even

         in the absence of regularization. However, in the present case

         not only the husband of the sole respondent was conferred

         temporary status and was working as temporary status casual

         labourer with effect from 01.01.2001 but had also stood

         regularized vide memo dated 17.03.2016, issued by the

         Superintendent RMS “NB” Division, Samastipur, though

         unfortunately he died prior to joining the said post of Multi-

         Tasking Staff in MTS cadre, hence he/his wife would definitely

         be entitled to all pensionary benefits.

         12.     Now coming to the issue concerning the entitlement of

         the deceased employee and the sole respondent to pension/
Patna High Court CWJC No.3460 of 2025 dt.16-06-2026
                                          14/15




         family pension and all other retiral benefits, i.e. as to whether

         the same would be computed as per the old pension scheme or

         the new pension scheme, we find that the said issue has also

         been set at rest by the aforesaid judgment dated 15.12.2015,

         passed by a co-ordinate Bench of this Court in the case of

         Mukti Prasad Yadav (supra) as also vide judgment dated

         13.02.2025 passed by a co-ordinate Bench of this Court in the

         case of Naina Devi (supra), which has also been upheld by the

         Hon’ble Apex Court vide order dated 17.02.2026, passed in

         the case of Union of India vs. Naina Devi wherein it has been

         held that if an employee is in service from a period prior to

         01.01.2004, though having a temporary status, such an

         employee would be covered under the old pension scheme and

         those who have come in service after 01.01.2004 would be

         covered by the new pension scheme.

         13.     In the present case, the husband of the respondent

         herein was conferred temporary status with effect from

         01.01.2001 vide memo dated 14.02.2001, hence admittedly

         he was already in service, though having temporary status,

         prior to the cut-off date, i.e. 01.01.2004. Thus, there is no

         iota of doubt that he would stand covered under the old

         pension scheme.
             Patna High Court CWJC No.3460 of 2025 dt.16-06-2026
                                                       15/15




                      14.     Having regard to the facts and circumstances of the case

                      and for the forgoing reasons, we do not find any merit in the

                      present writ petition, hence the same stands dismissed.


                                              (Mohit Kumar Shah, J)



                                                    (Raj Kumar, J)
Kanchan./-
AFR/NAFR                AFR
CAV DATE                NA
Uploading Date          20.06.2026
Transmission Date


Continue reading with your account

Sign in to read the full judgment. It’s free.

Sign in to read

Checking your session…

Lawyer court records for this case

Associated through the court’s case reference.

For a signed copy suitable for filing, refer to the court's website.