Created by Fuzzy Cloud

Bombay High Court

THE NATIONAL INSURANCE COMPANY LTD.versusPUSHPATAI BABURAO GUDMALWAR AND OTHERS

Disposal
DISMISSED

Holding

The Court held that the Commissioner’s findings on age and salary were not perverse and, in the absence of a substantial question of law, the appeal must be dismissed.

Summary

The National Insurance Company appealed under Section 30 of the Employees’ Compensation Act, 1923, challenging the Commissioner’s award of Rs.7,94,940 compensation for the death of Ganesh, a 22‑year‑old employee earning Rs.7,000 per month. The respondents proved the deceased’s age through a post‑mortem report and school certificate, and his salary through the wife’s testimony, the employer’s oath, and audit reports. The insurance company offered no evidence to contradict these facts, and cross‑examination yielded no dispute. The Court held that the Commissioner’s findings on age and income were not perverse and that no substantial question of law arose, which is the only ground for a Section 30 appeal. Consequently, the appeal was dismissed without costs.

Issues considered

  • Whether the Commissioner erred in determining the deceased's age and monthly salary for compensation under the Employees’ Compensation Act, 1923.
  • Whether a Section 30 appeal can be entertained on the basis of factual findings absent a substantial question of law.

Legislation cited

Subjects

  • Employees’ Compensation Act
  • Section 30 appeal
  • death compensation
  • age verification
  • salary proof
  • factual findings
  • compensation calculation

Judgment

2026:BHC-AUG:41654

                     IN THE JUDICATURE OF HIGH COURT AT BOMBAY
                                BENCH AT AURANGABAD

                               FIRST APPEAL NO. 241 OF 2014

                                The National Insurance Company Ltd.
                                            VERSUS
                           Smt. Pushpatai Baburao Gudmalwar and Oth.
                                                   …
                Advocate for Appellant : Mr. Prateek S. Jadhav h/f Mr. S. N Parghane
                                  None present for respondents
                                                   ...
                                CORAM       : ROHIT W. JOSHI, J.
                                Dated       : September 09, 2026

           PER COURT :-

           1.     The appellant-insurance company has preferred the present

           appeal under Section 30 of the Employees’ Compensation Act, 1923, in

           order to challenge the judgment and award dated 22nd April 2013,

           passed in E.C.A./01/2012 by the Commissioner under the Employees’

           Compensation Act, 1923, at Nanded.


           2.     Respondent    Nos.    1   and      2     had    preferred   Employees’

           Compensation Application No. 1 of 2012, claiming compensation on

           account of the demise of late Ganesh in an accident suffered during

           the course of his employment. It is stated that the deceased was

           drawing a salary of Rs. 7,000/- per month and was aged 22 years at

           the time of his demise.


           3.     The   respondent-employer       admitted       the   employer-employee

           relationship and the fact that the deceased was drawing a salary of Rs.


                                             Page 1 of 3
                                                            921 FA 241-2014



7,000/- per month.


4.   The learned Commissioner has determined the compensation

payable at Rs. 7,94,940/-, accepting the case of respondent Nos. 1

and 2 that the deceased was drawing a salary of Rs. 7,000/- per

month and was 22 years old at the time of his demise.


5.   The fact of the accident and the employment of the deceased

are not in question. The contentions raised in the appeal are that the

age and income are not properly proved and, therefore, the

computation of compensation is incorrect.


6.   The appellant-insurance company did not lead any evidence.

Respondent No. 1 had entered the witness box. Respondent No. 3-

employer did not conduct the cross-examination of respondent No. 1.

A perusal of the judgment would indicate that respondent No. 1 had

deposed about the income and age of the deceased in the witness

box. She stood the test of cross-examination, and nothing worthwhile

to disbelieve her deposition could be extracted during the course of

cross-examination by the insurance company.


7.   Respondent No. 3-employer also deposed, confirming that the

income of the deceased was Rs. 7,000/- per month. Respondent No.3

produced the insurance policy and audit reports of the establishment

during his evidence.



                               Page 2 of 3
                                                               921 FA 241-2014



8.       The learned Commissioner has referred to the post-mortem

report, wherein the age of the deceased is recorded as 22 years, as

well as the school leaving certificate of the deceased. Thus, there is

evidence on record to establish the age of the deceased.


9.       As regards the salary, the learned Commissioner has recorded

that the salary was not seriously disputed during the course of cross-

examination and that respondent No. 3-employer had also stated on

oath that the monthly salary drawn by the deceased was Rs. 7,000/-

per month.


10.      Having regard to the evidence on record and the findings

recorded by the learned Commissioner, in the considered opinion of

this Court, no substantial question of law arises for consideration in

the appeal. The findings with respect to the age and income do not

appear to be perverse. Such findings of fact cannot be interfered

with in an appeal under Section 30, which has to be entertained only

on a substantial question of law.


11.      The appeal is therefore dismissed, with no order as to costs.




                                                 ( ROHIT W. JOSHI, J. )




vj gawade/-.



                                   Page 3 of 3


Continue reading with your account

Sign in to read the full judgment. It’s free.

Sign in to read

Checking your session…

For a signed copy suitable for filing, refer to the court's website.