Bombay High Court
VIDYA VISHWANATH PHALKEversusTHE STATE OF MAHARASHTRA THRU. SECRETARY AND ORS
- Decided
- Disposal
- Disposed Off
Holding
An employee appointed to a fully aided school before 1 Nov 2005 remains governed by the Maharashtra Civil Services (Pension) Rules, 1982 and is entitled to pension under the Old Pension Scheme, with all service—including periods before the school received full grant‑in‑aid—counting towards qualifying service.
Summary
The petitioner, a retired headmistress, challenged an order of the Education Inspector that rejected her pension proposal under the Maharashtra Civil Services (Pension) Rules, 1982. She had been continuously employed in fully aided schools from 1990 and later in a school that became grant‑in‑aid only in 2009. The respondents argued that because the school was unaided at the time of her service, she was not eligible for the Old Pension Scheme and should fall under the Defined Contribution Pension Scheme introduced in 2005. The Court examined precedents establishing that the initial appointment date to an aided post determines eligibility for the Old Pension Scheme, and that service rendered before a school receives a full grant‑in‑aid counts towards qualifying service. It held that the petitioner, appointed before the 1 Nov 2005 cut‑off and enrolled in the pension scheme in 1993, is governed by the Old Pension Scheme. Consequently, the Education Inspector’s order was set aside and the petitioner’s pension proposal was directed to be processed.
Issues considered
- Whether an employee appointed to a fully aided school before 1 Nov 2005 is entitled to pension under the Old Pension Scheme despite later service in a school that was unaided at the time.
- Whether service rendered before a school receives a 100% grant‑in‑aid counts towards qualifying service for pension.
- Whether the Government Resolution of 31 Oct 2005 and the Defined Contribution Pension Scheme exclude the petitioner from the Old Pension Scheme.
Legislation cited
Subjects
- pension
- old pension scheme
- defined contribution pension scheme
- grant-in-aid
- aided school
- service continuity
- Maharashtra Civil Services (Pension) Rules
- retirement
- superannuation
Judgment
901-WP-13034-2025.DOC
Prasad
IN THE HIGH COURT OF JUDICATURE AT BOMBAY
CIVIL APPELLATE JURISDICTION
WRIT PETITION NO. 13034 OF 2025
Vidya Vishwanath Phalke,
Age: 58 years, residing at B2/2405,
Wadhawa Complex, Opposite R City Mall,
Ghatkopar (West), Mumbai – 400 086 …Petitioner
Versus
1. The State of Maharashtra,
The Principal Secretary,
Department of School Education and Sports, Mantralaya,
Mumbai – 400 032.
2. The Director of Education (Secondary),
Dr. Annie Besant Marg, Madhyavarti Building,
Pune – 411 001
3. Deputy Director of Education, Jawahar Bal Bhavan,
Ground Floor, Netaji Subhash Marg,
Charni Road, Mumbai – 400 004
4. The Education Inspector,
Greater Mumbai, North Zone, Chembur,
Administrative Building, Building No. 2,
2nd Floor, R.C. Marg,
Chembur, Mumbai – 400 071
5. The Superintendent,
Pay and Provident Fund Unit, Mumbai Division,
Administrative Building, Building No. 2, 2nd Floor, R.C. Marg,
Chembur, Mumbai – 400 071
6. The Chairman/Secretary, Harihar Warkari Sant Seva Mandal,
Kurla, Vitthal Mandir, New Mill Road,
Kurla (West), Mumbai – 400 070
Page 1 of 9
30 September 2026
901-WP-13034-2025.DOC
7. The Headmaster/Headmistress,
Prabodhan Kurla Madhyamik Shala, Vitthal Mandir,
New Mill Road, Kurla (West), Mumbai – 400 070
8. The Chairman/Secretary, Abhudya Dnyanvardhini Sanstha,
Parsiwadi, Ghatkopar (West),
Mumbai – 400 086
9. The Headmaster/Headmistress, Abhudya Vidyalay,
Parsiwadi, Ghatkopar (West),
Mumbai – 400 086
10. The Chairman/Secretary,
Samata Shikshan Sanstha, Mohili Village,
Sakinaka, Mumbai – 400 072
11. The Headmaster/Headmistress,
Samata Vidya Mandir, Mohili Village,
Sakinaka, Mumbai – 400 072 ...Respondents
_______
Mr Suresh Pakale, Senior Advocate, with Mr Nilesh Desai, for Petitioner.
Mr A R Deolekar, AGP for Respondents-State.
_______
CORAM: G. S. KULKARNI &
DR. NEELA GOKHALE, JJ.
RESERVED ON: 22nd SEPTEMBER 2026
PRONOUNCED ON: 30th SEPTEMBER 2026
JUDGMENT (Per Dr Neela Gokhale, J.)
1. The Petitioner retired on superannuation on 31st July 2025 as the
Headmistress of Respondent No. 7 school. She assails an order dated 11 th July
2025, passed by Respondent No. 4 – the Education Inspector, Brihanmumbai
Page 2 of 9
30 September 2026
901-WP-13034-2025.DOC
(North Zone), which rejected the proposal for her pension under the Maharashtra
Civil Services (Pension) Rules, 1982 (‘Pension Rules’); and seeks a direction for the
release of her pension.
2. The material facts are not in dispute. On 13 th June 1990, the Petitioner was
appointed as an Assistant Teacher in Respondent No. 11 – Samata Vidya Mandir,
Sakinaka, a fully aided school. Upon completion of her probation, she was granted
a permanent appointment on 7 th August 1991. She enrolled in the pension scheme,
including the family pension scheme, and by order dated 10 th September 1993, she
was assigned a General Provident Fund Account.
3. On 21st July 1998, the Petitioner joined Respondent No. 9 – Abhudya
Vidyalay, Ghatkopar, a fully aided school, as an Assistant Teacher. Her payments
continued to be credited to the same provident fund account until 13 th June 2000.
Subsequently, on 14th June 2000, she assumed the position of Headmistress at
Respondent No. 7 – Prabodhan Kurla Madhyamik Shala, Kurla, which was then
unaided. Respondent No. 7 school transitioned to a grant-in-aid status only after
1st November 2005, and, as per the impugned order, thereafter qualified for 100%
grant-in-aid by a communication from Respondent No. 4 dated 3 rd November
2009. At no stage was there a break in the Petitioner’s service.
4. Regarding the Petitioner’s imminent superannuation, Respondent No. 6 –
Management forwarded her pension proposal on 16 th April 2025. By the
impugned order, Respondent No. 4, after recording that the Petitioner had served
in aided schools only from 13th June 1990 to 13th June 2000, rejected the proposal
Page 3 of 9
30 September 2026
901-WP-13034-2025.DOC
and returned it to the Management. The stated reason was that Respondent No. 7
school received a 100% grant only on 3rd November 2009, and in accordance with
the Government Resolution dated 31st October 2005.
5. Mr Pakale, learned Senior Advocate representing the Petitioner, submitted
that the Petitioner entered pensionable service in 1990 on a sanctioned post in a
fully aided school and was admitted to the pension scheme in 1993. Furthermore,
he contended that the Defined Contribution Pension Scheme (‘DCPS’) pertains
solely to employees recruited on or after 1 st November 2005. He contended that
this Court's judgment in Dattatrya Patingrao Borse v. State of Maharashtra 1
governs the present case. He also relied on this Court's recent decision in
Dadasaheb Sada Kadam v. State of Maharashtra .2 Additionally, he cited this
Court's decision in Anuradha Jayant Gangakhedkar v. Brihanmumbai
Municipal Corporation3, to submit that service rendered before a school started
receiving a grant cannot be disregarded. Alternatively, he submitted that even if the
period from 14th June 2000 to 29th July 2008 is excluded, the Petitioner possesses
approximately 27 years of qualifying service.
6. Mr Deolekar, learned Additional Government Pleader, relying on the
affidavit in reply of Respondent No. 4, submitted that the Petitioner resigned from
Respondent No. 11 school; that her appointment in Respondent No. 9 school was
a fresh appointment; that she left that school voluntarily and subsequently joined
Respondent No. 7 school having knowledge that it was unaided; that on 1 st
1 BHC:2026-AUG:8401-DB (Writ Petition No. 8548 of 2022, decided on 25th February 2026).
2 (Writ Petition No. 11651 of 2023, decided on 11th September 2026).
3 2012 (5) Mh.L.J. 775.
Page 4 of 9
30 September 2026
901-WP-13034-2025.DOC
November 2005, Respondent No. 7 school was not receiving full grant-in-aid; and
hence she does not qualify for the Old Pension Scheme.
7. We have heard learned Counsel representing their respective parties and
perused the documents on record.
8. The DCPS introduced by the Government Resolution dated 31 st October
2005 applies to employees recruited on or after 1 st November 2005. Rule 2(2) of
the Pension Rules similarly excludes from its scope only those employees recruited
on or after that date. The Petitioner was recruited on 13 th June 1990. From that
date, she served on an aided post, and by the order dated 10 th September 1993, she
was admitted to the pension scheme and the General Provident Fund. The
Respondents do not contend that this admission was ever revoked, nor do they
contend that the Petitioner at any time opted for the DCPS.
9. This Court has consistently held that the initial date of appointment to an
aided post, not the date of a subsequent appointment, determines the applicability
of the Old Pension Scheme. In Renuka Chandrabhan Umredkar v. State of
Maharashtra & Ors.4, this Court held that the petitioner therein’s entitlements
under the Old Pension Scheme would be based on her initial date of appointment
as a part-time Librarian on an aided post and not on the basis of her later
appointment as a full-time Librarian under the DCP Scheme. Furthermore, in
Dadasaheb Sada Kadam (supra), this Court rejected the State’s contention that
4 2021 SCC OnLine Bom 9587.
Page 5 of 9
30 September 2026
901-WP-13034-2025.DOC
the subsequent appointment, being a ‘fresh appointment’, invalidated the earlier
service rendered in the aided post for pension calculations.
10. Thereafter, in Dattatrya Patingrao Borse (supra), the Aurangabad Bench of
this Court has followed the decision in Nilesh Namdev Gurav v. State of
Maharashtra5. The relevant portion reads as follows:
“9) The law as declared in the above judgments is that the employees similarly
placed to the petitioners are entitled to old pension scheme who are appointed
prior to 1.11.2005 in the 100% aided schools and not the DCP Scheme unless
specifically opted by the employees. All the employees who have not applied for
the DCP Scheme and the present petitioners, having not opted for the DCP
Scheme, ought to have been granted the benefit of the old pension scheme.”
Thus, employees appointed before 1st November 2005 in 100% aided
schools are entitled to the Old Pension Scheme unless they have explicitly opted for
the DCP Scheme.
11. In the case in hand, the Petitioner was not merely appointed prior to the
cut-off date. She was appointed to a sanctioned post in a fully aided school, served
on aided posts for ten years, and was enrolled in the pension scheme twelve years
before the inception of the DCPS. When the Government Resolution dated 31 st
October 2005 was issued, she was already a participant in the pension scheme.
12. In any case, the issue is no longer res integra. The Full Bench decision in
Deshmukh Dilipkumar Bhagwan & Ors v. State of Maharashtra & Ors. 6
concerned employees who, at the time of their appointment, were employed in
schools not receiving a 100% grant-in-aid, and whose schools only began to receive
such aid after 1st November 2005. The fundamental premise is that the
5 2022 (3) Mh.L.J. 615.
6 2019 SCC OnLine Bom 729.
Page 6 of 9
30 September 2026
901-WP-13034-2025.DOC
Government's liability to provide pension benefits to a retired employee of a
private school can arise only if the Government has committed to pay a full grant
to the school. In the case of the Petitioner, the Government assumed this liability
starting from 1990, when she was appointed to a fully aided post, and admitted her
to the pension scheme in 1993. The premise of the Full Bench is therefore satisfied.
13. The decision of the Full Bench in Deshmukh Dilipkumar Bhagwan
(supra) observed as follows:
“34. It is true that the service put in by an employee of a recognized private
school during the time when such school was not receiving grant, would
also count towards the qualifying service for pension when such employee
retires from a school which receives grant. This was also the context of G.R.
dated 8.4.2018 noted earlier. This, however, would not mean that the employee
appointed in a school can claim to be governed by the pension scheme till the
school starts receiving 100% grant.”
(emphasis supplied)
14. The Full Bench judgment observed that the service rendered by an
employee of a recognised private school during periods when such school did not
receive a grant would also be considered as qualifying service for pension purposes
upon the employee's retirement from a school that does receive a grant. A similar
standpoint is reflected in the decision in Anuradha Jayant Gangakhedkar (supra),
where a Division Bench of this Court, construing the pension scheme for private
primary aided schools in Greater Mumbai, held that there is no basis in the Pension
Scheme or the Pension Rules to exclude, during the calculation of qualifying
service, the period of service rendered by an employee prior to the school obtaining
grant-in-aid. The Petitioner retired from a school that received 100% grant-in-aid;
Page 7 of 9
30 September 2026
901-WP-13034-2025.DOC
therefore, her service in Respondent No. 7 – school from 14 th June 2000 must also
be included.
15. Recently, this Court, in its decision in Dadasaheb Sada Kadam (supra), has
considered a series of decisions on the issue involved in the present matter. We
have also referred to the Full Bench's observations in Deshmukh Dilipkumar
Bhagwan (supra). Paragraph 36 of Dadasaheb Kadam (supra) reads thus:
“36. From the aforesaid discussion, it is clear that various decisions as
rendered by this Court have taken into consideration the applicability
of the 1981 Rules as also MCS (Pension) Rules to hold that in
situations when initially an appointment is on a post which is a part-
time post, in an aided institution and subsequently followed by
regular appointment, the period spent by the employee on the part-
time appointment necessarily would be taken into consideration for
the purpose of calculating the qualifying service, for the purpose of
pension. Similarly, in case of an employee of a recognized private
aided school, appointed during the time when school was not
receiving grant and the tenure on such position also would be
counted towards the qualifying service for pension, when such an
employee retires from a school receiving grant-in-aid. This is in
pursuance of the policy decision dated 08 April 2018 in G.R. dated
20 April 2018 as considered by the Full Bench when it held that an
employee appointed in a school could be governed by the pension
scheme not merely from the time the school starts receiving 100%
grant as held by the Full Bench.”
16. In view of the aforesaid discussions and the settled legal position, the
impugned order cannot be sustained. We accordingly pass the following order:
(i) The order dated 11th July 2025 passed by Respondent No. 4 is
quashed and set aside.
(ii) It is declared that the Petitioner is governed by the Maharashtra Civil
Services (Pension) Rules, 1982, the Maharashtra Civil Services
(Commutation of Pension) Rules, 1984 and the General Provident
Fund.
Page 8 of 9
30 September 2026
901-WP-13034-2025.DOC
(iii) Respondent Nos. 6 and 7 shall submit the Petitioner’s pension
proposal afresh to Respondent No. 4 within two weeks from the date
of this judgment.
(iv) Respondent Nos. 4 and 5 shall process the proposal and sanction the
Petitioner’s pension within four weeks thereafter in accordance with
law.
17. Writ Petition is allowed. No order as to costs.
(DR. NEELA GOKHALE, J.) (G. S. KULKARNI, J.)
PRASAD
RAJENDRASING
RAJPUT
Digitally signed by
PRASAD
RAJENDRASING
RAJPUT
Date: 2026.10.01
15:08:37 +0530
Page 9 of 9
30 September 2026
Checking your session…
Lawyer court records for this case
Associated through the court’s case reference.